Finalists announced in 44th PRINZ Awards


Excellence in the public relations profession is again recognised with the announcement of 29 finalists in the 44th Public Relations Institute of New Zealand (PRINZ) annual industry awards. Finalists will be awarded ‘Highly Commended’ or named category ‘Winner’ at the PRINZ Awards Gala dinner in Hamilton on Wednesday 30 May.

The awards are designed to recognise outstanding public relations work and highlight the importance of good communications across every aspect of society. This is reflected in categories which range from marketing communications and government relations, to not-for-profit and communicating in diversity.

Chief Judge and Fellow of the Public Relations Institute of New Zealand, Lisa Finucane, said that the Awards recognise the huge amount of talent and professionalism inherent in the industry and celebrate the value that public relations professionals add to their organisations and communities.

“There are certainly fewer businesses and organisations that don’t recognise the importance of transparent, proactive, and two-way communications when dealing with their stakeholders – both internal and external. And those that don’t all too often come to professional communicators to help them address reputation issues when they fail to take communications into account and things go wrong,” she said.

Winners of all categories (except Consultancy of the Year, Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year and Paul Dryden Tertiary Award) are eligible for the coveted ‘Supreme Award’, which is also revealed at the Awards Gala Dinner. 

44th PRINZ Awards finalists 2018 

(In alphabetical order by entry title, PRINZ member entrants listed)

Bull’s Eye: A Genetic Game-change to Produce Greener Cows – Peta Goldsworthy and Charlotte FitzPatrick, HMC Communications Ltd

Competition can't stop us: keeping customers using convincing community relations – Bethany Chapman and Heather Claycomb, HMC Communications Ltd

Countdown phases out single-use plastic bags - Supermarket brand takes leading position – James Walker, Kate Porter, Katherine Klouwens, Countdown; Courtney Stayte, Louise Wright, Sarah Williams, Porter Novelli; and Holly Lindsey, Rose MacNicol, Fuse

Doing things differently: How to introduce the country's toughest farming rules – Chelsea Halliwell, Resolve Communications; Angus McLeod, Gerald Raymond, Environment Canterbury

Good Heavens - Great Barrier Island's dark sky – Anika Forsman, Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development

GP - Heart of the Community – Angela Paul, Helen Morgan-Banda and Katie Mathison, Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners (RNZCGP)

He Tohu Exhibition - Department of Internal Affairs – Cheryl Klaui, Darin To’o, Jenny Riches, Kim Chambers and Rebecca Lancashire, Department of Internal Affairs

Investing for your energy future – Helen Duncan, Powerco

Mercy Ships New Zealand: A Maritime Campaign Amelia Cheng, Cathrine Pierce, Elizabeth Osborne, Michael Bain, AUT University

NZME: Driving Strategy in our regional offices with Boggsy's Bus – Jessica Nutley and Rowena D’Souza, NZME

People Power: Engaging the NZ public with the 2017 general election – Annalie Brown, Jenna Ward, Jennifer Little, Paul Mulrooney, Sidah Russell, Ryan Willoughby, Massey University

Reconnecting New Zealand - The story of a road opening – Helen Fergusson, Jamie Sitzia, Liezel Esterhuizen, Marcus Gibbs, Stella Castelow, NCTIR; Frances Adank, Jan McCarthy, NZ Transport Agency

Re:scam - turning the tables on scammers – Chloe Tonkin, Claudia Macdonald, Max Burt, Sean Brown, Mango

Say it Tika (Say it Right) – Joanna James, Katie Smith, FCB; Kiri Coughlan, Vodafone New Zealand

The Sparky Experience – Lorraine Harding, Powerco

The tree creeper that rose from the ashes – Jo Scott, Great Scott Communications; Francesca Eathorne, Antarctic Heritage Trust

Turning Auckland DHB Pink to launch anti-bullying programme speak up | Kaua e patu wairua – Maxine Stead and Rachel Lorimer, Auckland DHB

Uniting Aucklanders to Save 20 in a time of crisis – David Hawkins, Gemma Bridge, Janie Smith, Maxine Clayton, Melanie Verran, Rachel Hughes and Ramari Young, Watercare Services

Vector Lights on Auckland Harbour Bridge – Fiona McCauley, Sara Cairney, Auckland Council; Richard Llewellyn, Vector; Anika Forsman, Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development

Walesi - Connecting a Country, Transforming a Nation – Angela Campbell, Corrie Taylor, Jessica Cushing, Scott Campbell, Yannis Naumann, Campbell Squared Communications

100 or 110 - What do you think? – Claire Pedersen-Croll, Janette Williams, NZ Transport Agency

Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year Award finalists

  • Bethany Chapman, HMC Communications Ltd
  • Lydia Tebutt, Spark New Zealand
  • Hannah Ross, Adhesive PR
  • Morgan Bailey, RocketLab
  • Natasha Stubbing, Northland Regional Council
  • Tessa Donovan, SenateSHJ