Finalists announced in 2019 PRINZ Awards

22 May 2019

Following judging by 38 senior public relations and communications practitioners, the Public Relations Institute of New Zealand (PRINZ) announces 25 finalists in the 2019 annual industry awards.

The awards are designed to recognise outstanding public relations work and highlight the importance of good communications across every aspect of society. This is reflected in categories which range from marketing communications and government relations, to not-for-profit and communicating in diversity. This is furthered with the introduction of the new ‘PR In-House Team of the Year’ category.

Chief Judge and Fellow of the Public Relations Institute of New Zealand, Kate Woodruffe, said that the Awards recognise and celebrate the value that public relations professionals add to their organisations and communities.

“In today’s environment, organisations face high levels of public scrutiny, and expectations of transparency and social responsibility. Public relations professionals play a critical role in helping organisations navigate this environment successfully by encouraging good business decisions as well as effective communication. The PRINZ Awards showcase the diverse range of success stories generated by our members,” she said.

Winners of all categories (except Consultancy of the Year, PR In-house Team of the Year, Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year, and Paul Dryden Tertiary Award) are eligible for the coveted ‘Supreme Award’, which will be revealed at the Awards Gala Dinner.

Finalists will be awarded ‘Highly Commended’ or named category ‘Winner’ at the PRINZ Awards Gala dinner in Wellington at the Beehive on Thursday 25 July. PRINZ does not announce finalists in the ‘PR Consultancy of the Year’ and ‘In-house Team of the Year’ categories. All entrants in these categories are essentially considered ‘finalists’ with winners announced at the Gala Dinner. These categories do not award ‘highly commended’ status unless special acknowledgement is requested by the judges. Tickets can be purchased here

2019 PRINZ Awards finalists
(In alphabetical order by entry title, PRINZ member entrants listed)

2degrees #GoodChat – Claudia Macdonald, Holly Hatch-Stevens, Max Burt, Mango Communications; Katherine Cornish, Mathew Bolland, 2degrees

A calm urgency: securing whānau approval for 600+ legal changes – Ariane Adam, Angela Campbell, Scott Campbell, Campbell Squared Communications

A Conversation Starter for Testicular Cancer – Angela Spain, Joanna James, Katie Smith, FCB New Zealand

A new horizon: moving ProCare from corporate to co-operative – Scott Campbell, Angela Campbell, Ariane Adam, Campbell Squared Communications

Are We There Yet? Women and Equality in Aotearoa – Bex Martelletti, Auckland Museum

Cultural cocktail smooths border control issue for Asian visitors – Eva Li, Kenneth Wang, Lucy Ong, Bananaworks Communications

Fly Your Drone – Using wit to regulate unwitting pilots – Kelly Gage, Mike Richards, Civil Aviation Authority of New Zealand

Leading the way in reducing plastic at checkouts – Daniel Chasemore, Countdown

Maungatapu Underpass Community Day – Amanda Weatherley, Claire Pedersen-Croll, Natalie Mankelow, New Zealand Transport Agency

Never too young – creating a conversation about bowel cancer – Chelsea Halliwell, Resolve Communications

Rescuing Husky Rescue – Erin Jamieson, Leigh Harris, Lisa-Marie Richan, Rebecca Dunlay, Steve Attwood, Convergence Communications and Marketing

Transparency and Tikanga – weaving a path for a divided iwi – Jessica Cushing, Scott Campbell, Angela Campbell, Campbell Squared Communications

Wave Nine – Invest in Your Whānau – Ranae Niven, Te Pūtahitangao Te Waipounamu

Seizing the moment: World Vegan Day – Chloe Ogilvie, Amy Richardson, Colin Espiner, Justene Taua, Rebecca Foote, SKYCITY Entertainment Group

Spark Goes Agile: Not Just Another Damn Restructure – Anaru Tuhi, Andrew Pirie, Ellie Cross, Michelle Baguley, Todd Parker, Spark New Zealand

Spark’s Kupu encourages Kiwis to give Te Reo Māori a go – Anaru Tuhi, Ellie Cross, Spark New Zealand

You can’t make a glacier lie – Susan Pepperell, Rory Newsam, Sarah Fraser, NIWA

Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year Award finalists

  • Cassie Arauzo, Spark New Zealand
  • Sarah George, Internet New Zealand

PRINZ Awards Dinner

Join PRINZ Awards finalists, APR graduands, conference delegates, the PRINZ National Council and members of the PRINZ College of Fellows in a night of celebration. The PRINZ Awards will be hosted at the Banquet Hall on the first floor of the Beehive in Wellington on Thursday 25 July. 

Register Now ›

NOTE: If you have registered to attend the 2019 PRINZ Conference 'Changing Mindsets', your ticket already includes a complimentary ticket to the Awards Gala Dinner.