Finalists announced in 2020 PRINZ Awards

Tuesday, 12 May 2020

The Public Relations Institute of New Zealand (PRINZ) announces 25 finalists in the 2020 annual industry awards following judging by senior public relations and communications professionals.

The awards recognise outstanding work in public relations and highlight the impact of great communications across every aspect of society. The breadth is reflected in categories ranging from marketing communications and government relations, to not-for-profit and communicating in diversity.

Chief Judge and Fellow of the Public Relations Institute of New Zealand, Kate Woodruffe, says the awards celebrate the diverse range of success stories generated by our members and recognise the huge amount of talent and professionalism inherent in the industry.

 “As a way of increasing recognition and better reflecting the judging process, this year finalists will be awarded Gold, Silver or Bronze, rather than Winner or Highly Commended as in previous years. We hope that this, combined with the option to receive feedback from the judging panels, will provide greater scope for learning and celebration.”

Gold winners of all categories (except Consultancy of the Year, PR In-house Team of the Year, Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year, and Paul Dryden Tertiary Award) are eligible for the coveted ‘Supreme Award’, which will be revealed at the virtual Awards Gala.

Due to COVID-19, the 2020 Awards Gala Dinner, that was scheduled for June 11 at Auckland’s Hopetoun Alpha, has been cancelled. The in-person event will be replaced by a virtual awards gala held at 4pm on Thursday June 11 with more details still to be confirmed.

“Despite the difficult situation we’re facing, it’s more important than ever to celebrate success within the industry and the awards give us the opportunity to celebrate the value that public relations professionals add to their organisations and communities. We hope that the virtual event gives finalists and practitioners the opportunity to dress up and (virtually) come together to celebrate success in the public relations industry.”

PRINZ does not announce finalists for the ‘PR Consultancy of the Year’, ‘PR In-house Team of the Year’, ‘Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year’, and ‘Paul Dryden Tertiary Award’ categories. All entrants in these categories are essentially considered ‘finalists’ with winners announced at the awards ceremony.

Tickets for the virtual awards ceremony can be found here.


For further information, please contact:

Rheanna Kingma, Communications Advisor, PRINZ

09 358 9808, 027 7407 302 |

About PRINZ - The Public Relations Institute of New Zealand (PRINZ) was established in 1954 to represent the public relations and communication management profession in New Zealand. Today it has 1400 members working in public relations and communication management across all sectors of business, consultancy, academia, government and not-for-profit organisations.

2020 Finalists

(In alphabetical order by entry title, PRINZ member entrants listed)

A new CEO's all staff connection – Emma Timewell and Phil Johnstone, The New Zealand Institute for Plant and Food Research Limited

A new climate-friendly generation - Gen Less – James Walker, Adam Szentes, Rhiannon Hughes and Sophie Coley, Porter Novelli Auckland; Jane O'Loughlin, Penny St John and Sarah Barnett, The Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA)

Auckland, we have a problem - Teresa Burnett, Auckland Transport

BNZ Scam Savvy: Helping New Zealanders be safer online – Michael Burgess and Sam Durbin, Bank of New Zealand (BNZ)

Bridging the digital divide across the Pacific - Allan Botica, Nicole Steven, Botica Butler Raudon Partners

Connect, Grow, Share, Together; ‘Launch of Te Aka – our new intranet’ - Jenna Waite-Leonard, Clarissa van Emmenes, Trilby Bagshaw, Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology

Creating the World’s Biggest Reserve Bench – Sandy Trigg, Network Communication; Asuka Burge, Francesca Chan, Laura Skerritt, Nephi Arthur, New Zealand Blood Service

Give a xxxx – Vote Today – Helena Williams, Jacqueline Baker, Charles Woollin, Holly Townsend, John Macdonald, Ryan Evans, New Plymouth District Council

He Ara Kotahi: the pathway that got a city to fall back in love with its river – Olivia Wix, Palmerston North City Council

Helping mothers fly their kite – Jackie Curtis and Rebecca Kinraid, Cherry Red Consulting

Kathmandu: Adapt All-Weather Wedding Dress - Paula Charmley, Kathmandu

Kiwibank I AM HOPE - David Lister, Gina McKinnon, Fuse NZ Ltd

Knowledge is Power – Cliff Joiner, Jessica Nutley, Rowena D'Souza, NZME

Life to the Power of 5G - Vodafone's 5G network launch - Nicky Preston, Rich Llewellyn, Meera Kaushik, Rebecca Huang, Vodafone New Zealand Ltd

Making the Police 105 non-emergency number famous in New Zealand - Helen Flannery, New Zealand Police

Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Rawa whānau communications – Claudia Macdonald, Jill Dryden, Max Burt, Rebecca Dawson, Mango Communications; Hariata Ngatai, Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Rawa

Operation Tidy Fox - using people power to restore a river - Marcus Gibbs, Leigh-Anne Wiig and Robyn Orchard, Department of Conservation

Record breaking success - positioning medical cannabis as Marlborough's next Sauvignon Blanc – Donovan Ryan and Jo Scott, Great Scott

Regulating the property management industry to protect tenants, landlords and property managers - Dee Crooks, Real Estate Institute of New Zealand (REINZ)

Safer Roads, Safer Waipā – Bethany Rolston, Charlotte FitzPatrick, Karen Cousins, Regan Schoultz, Waipa District Council

Shaking the vines for the kiwifruit cause – Anita Winterstein, Ron Murray, Wright CommunicationsMike Murphy, New Zealand Kiwifruit Growers Inc.

Te Ara Wai Journeys – pathways through Waipā – Bethany Rolston, Charlotte FitzPatrick, Karen Cousins, Regan Schoultz, Waipā District Council

Their road not ours: engaging for safer roads - Janet Luxton and Shelley Crestani, Crestani Limited

The traffic-stopping event of 2019 – BP’s Fuel on Us - Louise Wright, Rhiannon Hughes, Esther Dawson and Sarah Williams, Porter Novelli; Gordon Gillan and Leigh Taylor, BP Oil New Zealand

VOTE 2019: motivating reluctant voters - Shanna Vatselias, Masterton District Council